Skip to content

Grumbling Appendix: an announcement

August 24, 2015

Dear Friends,

Grumbling Appendix will never return to blogging about nursing. I do still write though – my current blog, The Veg Diner Monologues, concerns the rather more dilettante subject of eating out in Coventry. Whether my sideline in Great British Bake Off reviews will continue in 2017 depends on how things pan out when the series moves to Channel Four. Between you and me and the gatepost, Dorret quite liked my take on Series 6 Week 3!

 

Thanks to everyone for reading and I hope I have occasionally managed to make people think, even if only a little.

From → Odd and Ends

6 Comments
  1. michael permalink

    NOOOOO! Please don’t do it. We will be lost without your incisive commentary. Also I’ve just written you into the introduction of my new book.

  2. Hi Michael. That’s very sweet of you, and I’m extremely flattered to be mentioned in your book. I’m sure I will return to blogging about nursing, but since my husband died, I feel like my passion has deserted me (and, yes dear readers, I know I have gone on record as hating that word, but only because it’s overused. Used sparingly, it can still mean something, as it does here). I just don’t have the energy to plough through tedious government documents and follow all the Twitter conversations. Rather than produce sub-standard work that doesn’t come from the heart, and isn’t true to the the facts, I think it’s better to fall silent for a while.

    At the moment, I am pondering the changes I want to make in my life – but discontinuing my writing will not be one of them. Writing is something I need to do; it’s a kind of instinct, I think, that comes from deep inside. For the moment, the TV reviews are satisfying my literary urges. Watching a TV programme is quick and enjoyable, and writing about it is fun. I’m actually very pleased with my GBBO stuff. I think it’s funny but at the same time has something to say about the culture which we all both consume and create.

  3. I, too, will miss your blog. However, I do understand your decision. You do have a gift for writing, I hope you don’t mind me saying – great, engaging style as well as making sense and prodding the brain cells. Enjoy your TV reviews and good luck with your next stage. Finally, thank you – I really have enjoyed reading your commentary.

  4. Thank you Barbara, that is very kind. Thank you too for all your comments, which always added something to the original articles.

  5. Hi Grumbling Appendix.
    I’m pleased to hear that you plan to continue writing in some form. I can appreciate that maintaining the regular blogging, especially when your blog posts are so well-researched and considered, must be quite a pressure … but I’m heartened that you are not giving up writing because, as others have noted, you have a great gift for writing with impact and panache.
    I look forward to reading your work again in the future and, in the meantime, take care.
    Best regards,
    Tony

  6. Thanks Tony for your kind words. I don’t forget the part you played in making me believe I could do this. Look out for more TV reviews coming soon!

Leave a Reply

