Skip to content

Strange Day

May 19, 2013

Shall I compare it to a normal day?

It was more calm: no drugs were overdue,

The phone was quiet, the kardex put away,

The HCA had gone to make a brew.

Strange day to be the one when fate decreed

I’d ask ‘what is the point of being a nurse?’

A call bell rang; a patient cried in need.

I found her laid in wee – and something worse.

Well never mind I said, I often yearn

For time to do the basic nursing stuff.

Janette will be impressed on her return –

She thinks the trained staff don’t help out enough.

I’ll fetch the sheets I said, and change your bed.

I trust Janette she said, fetch her instead.

From → Silly Stuff

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

